top of page

Sat 19th Jan - GHA v Kelso RFC - 2pm KO

Match Gallery

1st Team Sheet b.jpg

Kelso 12 GHA 34 half time 12-8
Kelso’s problems continue with key players still out injured and another few to add to the list from this game against GHA in Glasgow.
Like last week against Marr, Kelso acquitted themselves well in the first half and led at half time by 12-8. It should, however, have been a greater lead at the interval as they had a particularly dominant scrum in the first half. 
Tries by Gareth Walker and replacement, Andy Tait, and a conversion of Tait’s try by Craig Dods to a sole penalty by GHA took Kelso into a 12-3 lead. A succession of scrums near the hosts’ line resulted in further penalties, a yellow card against GHA and the opportunity to kick an easy penalty was spurned. A melee ensued and there appeared to be a blatant head butt by one of the GHA players. The upshot was, amazingly, and much to the surprise of even the GHA coaches and officials, a yellow card against Murray Hastie for an alleged dodgy piece of footwork.
GHA went down the field and scored a try to reduce the gap to only 4 points. Hastie’s 10 minute absence allowed GHA to score 3 tries. Sadly, the wheels came off for Kelso with further injuries and 4 further tries, including a penalty try, for the city side. There were 3 conversions included and the score was stretched out to 34-12 for GHA.
The gap at the bottom of the league is closing a little on Kelso with a home game to come against Gala this weekend, then a league break for most of February.      
Kelso team: Murray Hastie; Gareth Walker; Kevin Wilson; Gregor Mein; Mark Wilson; Craig Dods; Phil Hume; Michael Downer; Charlie Marshall; Blair Robertson; Alex Thompson; Angus Common; Tony Wichary; Cammy Brown; Kevin Dryden
Replacements: Craig Sweenie; Kris Mein; Jack Walker; Andy Tait; Robbie Tweedie
Scorers: Gareth Walker and Andy Tait tries; Craig Dods 1 conversion


1. Michael Downer
2. Charlie Marshall
3. Blair Robertson
4. Alex Thompson
5. Angus Common
6. Tony Wichary
7. Cammy Brown
8. Kev Dryden
9. Phil Hume
10. Craig Dods
11. Mark Wilson
12. Gregor Mein
13. Kev Wilson
14. Gareth Walker
15. Murray Hastie
16. Craig Sweenie
17. Kris Mein
18. Jack Walker
19. Andy Tait
20. Robbie Tweedie

bottom of page