Kelso RFC Historical Timeline

1876       Kelso Rugby Football Club founded

1879       First floodlit match played in Scotland in Bridgend Park

1908       First game at Poynder Park

1912       Kelso became members of the Scottish Rugby Union

1926       Jimmy Graham became Kelso’s first Scottish International player

1931       Kelso’s first win in the Border League

1935      Kelso supply 2 players for the Scottish team for the first time: Gordon Cottington and Bob Grieve

1948       Kelso win the Scottish Unofficial Championship jointly with Aberdeen Grammar

1950       Kelso become owners of Poynder Park

1951       Oliver Turnbull becomes the first back to be picked for Scotland

1959       Ken Smith becomes Kelso’s first British Lion

1961       Kelso’s permanent floodlights are switched on

1972       Kelso Harlequins win the Border Semi-Junior league for the first time

1974       Kelso wins promotion to the 1st Division after the first season of National leagues

1978       Kelso win at Melrose Sevens for the first time

1983       Roger Baird becomes Kelso’s second British Lion

1987       Kelso High School wins the Scottish School Cup

1988       Gary Callander captains Scotland for the season

1988       Kelso provide 4 players for the Scottish team v Ireland

1988      Kelso provide 5 players for the Scottish team for the 5 Nations Championship season

1988       Kelso team has 6 Scottish international players in their team

1988       Kelso win the First Division for the first time: repeated in 1989

1989       John Jeffrey becomes Kelso’s 3rd British Lion

1992      Kelso Harlequins win the Scottish Youth Cup: repeated in 1993

1997       Alan Tait becomes Kelso’s 4th British Lion

1998       Kelso make their 1st appearance in the Scottish Cup final at Murrayfield: repeated in 1999

2002       Ross Ford plays for Scotland in the Commonwealth Games 7s at Manchester

2009       Ross Ford becomes Kelso’s 5th British Lion

2012       Ross Ford becomes Scottish captain

2010       Scott Newlands plays for Scotland in the Commonwealth Games 7s in Delhi

2012       Ross Ford captains Scotland for the first of 8 times

2015       Kelso Ladies established

2016       Ross Ford wins his 100th cap for Scotland

2016       Kelso High School win the Scottish Schools under 16 Plate competition

2017       Ross Ford becomes Scotland’s most capped male player

2018       Kelso Ladies win National 2, repeated in 2019

2020       Kelso rugby shut down due to the coronavirus