top of page

Sat 17th Nov 2018 - Musselburgh V Kelso 1st - 2pm KO (67-24)

Match Gallery

1st Team Sheet.jpg

Tennant’s  National League Division 1

Kelso 24  Musselburgh 67 half time 0-41

Kelso travelled over Soutra to take on Musselburgh who are currently high fliers following their win over Jed-Forest a couple of weeks ago. This was the first game after the mid point in the league. The earlier match at Poynder was very keenly contested with Muss taking the spoils by 17-12.

 Kelso put up a good display against Jed but the side was much changed due to injury and unavailability. Injury ravaged would be an apt description of the team which had gone through challenging circumstances during the week.

The hosts ran up a healthy lead by half time with 7 tries only 3 of which were converted. However, the second half was much more even with Kelso scoring 4 tries through Gareth Walker, Phil Hume, Cammy Brown and Gregor Mein. Murray Hastie, in at stand off, converted 2 of these tries but, in the meantime, Muss scored another 4 of their own with 3 of them being converted.

The game ended with uncontested scrums.

Kelso competed well in phases but the home side tore them apart when they got the ball wide out.

The saving grace for Kelso was the bonus point, which did not look likely after the first half, for the 4 tries and the fact that the teams below them in the league all lost. So, as we have a break in the league for the National Cup match against Dumfries next Saturday, Kelso maintain their position in 8th place with a couple of home league games to come at the start of December.  

Kelso team: Ryan Ford, Gregor Millar, Kevin Wilson, Gregor Mein , Arran Jackson, Murray Hastie,  Phil Hume, Cammy Harrison,  Charlie Marshall, Gareth Clarke, Robert Hastie, Alex Thompson, Cammy Brown, Fergus Common, Cormac Izuchukwu, ,

Replacements: Andy Tait ,Kris Mein and Gareth Walker

Kelso scorers: Tries Gregor Mein, Gareth Walker, Cammy Brown and Phil Hume tries and Murray Hastie 2 cons 


1. Michael Downer
2. Charlie Marshall 
3. Gareth Clark
4. Alex Thompson
5. Robert Hastie
6. Fergus Common
7. Cammy Brown
8. Cormac Izuchukwu
9. Phil Hume
10. Murray Hastie
11. Arran Jackson 
12. Gregor Mein
13. Kev Wilson
14. Gregor Millar
15. Ryan Ford
16. Greig Purcell
17. Kris Mein
18. Andy Tait
19. Gareth Walker
20. Mark Wilson

bottom of page